Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence


Apply Now!

The Urban Land Institute invites the submission of projects to the 2019 ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence from February 12, 2019 to March 25, 2019. The final submission deadline is midnight Hong Kong time (GMT+8) on Monday, March 25, 2019. Winning projects will be announced during the ULI Asia Pacific Summit in Shanghai on 11-13 June 2019.

Submissions are open to all, not just ULI members.

To submit a project or programme, go to OrgSync, at, and create a profile.

Once you have a profile, go to the Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence portal at and click Join Now.

Once you have joined the portal, select Forms > 2019 ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence Submission Form.

On this form submission page, you can also access a blank submission form in PDF to help you prepare your submission materials before you complete the form online. However, you may not submit your entry using the PDF form.

Click here to access the application Instructions.

Click here to access a Blank Submission Form.

For additional information, please contact

About 2019 ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence

A guiding principle of the Urban Land Institute is that the achievement of excellence in land use practice should be recognized and rewarded. In accordance with this, ULI initiated the Global Awards for Excellence programme in 1979 to recognize truly superior development efforts in the private, public, and non-profit sectors. This year, we are extending the programme to honour projects on a regional basis with the launch of the Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence.

Projects that enter this or other ULI regional or local award programmes may also enter the ULI Global Awards for Excellence competition. Projects do not need to first enter regional or local awards in order to compete for the Global Awards for Excellence.

Winning projects represent the highest standards of achievement in the development industry—standards that ULI members deem worthy of attainment in their professional endeavours.

Submissions are open to all, not just ULI members.

A jury of ULI full members chooses finalists and winners. Members of the jury are recognized leaders who represent a broad geographic diversity and are drawn from many areas of real estate development expertise, including finance, architecture, design, land planning and development, public affairs, design, and professional services.

ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence recognize the full development process of a project, not just its architecture or design—although these elements play an important role.

The jury will evaluate projects and programmes on the extent to which they:

  • achieve marketplace acceptance/financial success;
  • achieve a high standard of excellence in all areas—architecture, design, planning, construction, amenities, economics, and management, etc.;
  • demonstrate relevance to the contemporary and future needs of the community in which they are located;
  • have a positive impact in their communities and/or immediate context;
  • exhibit environmental sustainability, stewardship, and resiliency, and
  • provide models, lessons, strategies, or techniques that other communities can replicate or adapt.

Entry fees

An entry fee must accompany each submission. Fees for the 2019 ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence are:

  • Public Sector/NGO US $250.00
  • Private Sector US $600.00

Please note that these fees apply to the company or organisation submitting the application, not the type of project. For instance, a private sector company submitting a public sector project pays the private sector fee. For the purposes of this competition, a state-owned enterprise is regarded as a private-sector entity. Organisations that are owned by the state will only be regarded as public sector bodies if they are not self-financing and/or are not operated on a commercial basis.

The Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence have recognized a wide variety of product types, including office, residential, recreational, urban/mixed use, industrial/office park, commercial/retail, new community, rehabilitation, public, and heritage projects, as well as programmes and projects that do not fit into any of these product categories.