Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence

2020 Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence

Recognition of excellence in land use practice has long been a guiding principle of the ULI, leading to the creation of the Global Awards for Excellence in 1979, and the launch of an Asia Pacific Awards programme in 2019. Winning projects represent the highest standards of achievement in the development industry. The programme is today widely recognised by the development community as one of its most prestigious awards.

To Apply

Submission opens on Wednesday, 15 January 2020. 

Submission closes at 11:59pm HKT, Wednesday, 23 March 2020. 

Read the submission instructions (last updated Jan 14, 2020);
Review the sample submission form (last updated Jan 10, 2020)
For Chinese instructions, click here.
For Japanese instructions, click here.

ULI accepts submissions through an online form at

You must have a ULI account to access the form. If you do not have an account, you can create a free account (click “Create a ULI account”) and then access the form.

For more information please email

Find out more about last year’s winners here.

The ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence recognise the full development process of a project, not just its architecture or design—although these elements play an important role. The jury will evaluate projects and programmes on the extent to which they:

  • Achieve marketplace acceptance/financial success;
  • Achieve a high standard of excellence across a range of disciplines—architecture, design, planning, construction, sustainability, resiliency, economics, management, etc.;
  • Are relevant to their communities’ needs;
  • Have a positive impact on communities and/or immediate context;
  • Provide a model, strategy, or technique that can be replicated or adapted elsewhere.

A jury of ULI full members chooses finalists and winners. Members of the jury are recognised leaders representing a broad geographic diversity and many areas of real estate development expertise, including finance, architecture, design, land planning and development, public affairs, and professional services.

The Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence have recognized a wide variety of product types, including office, residential, recreational, urban/mixed use, industrial/office park, commercial/retail, new community, rehabilitation, public, open space, and legacy projects, as well as programmes and projects that do not fit into any of these product categories.

Entry fees

An entry fee must accompany each submission. Fees for the 2020 ULI Asia Pacific Awards for Excellence are:

  • Public Sector/NGO US $250.00
  • Private Sector US $600.00

Please note that these fees apply to the company or organisation submitting the application, not the type of project. For instance, a private sector company submitting a public sector project pays the private sector fee.