Global Awards for Excellence

A guiding principle of the Urban Land Institute is that the achievement of excellence in land use practice should be recognized and rewarded. Since 1979, ULI has honored outstanding development projects in the private, public, and nonprofit sectors with the ULI Global Awards for Excellence program, which today is widely recognized as the development community’s most prestigious awards program.

About the Awards

ULI Awards for Excellence recognize the full development process of a project, not just its architecture or design—although these elements play an important role in the overall project. Each award is presented to the development project. Nominations are open to all, not just ULI members. Juries of ULI full members, chaired by trustees, choose finalists and winners. The broad geographic diversity of jury members represent many fields of real estate development expertise, including finance, land planning, development, public affairs, design, and other professional services.

ULI began the Awards for Excellence program in 1979 with the objective of recognizing truly superior development efforts. The criteria for the awards include factors that go beyond good design, including leadership, contribution to the community, innovations, public/private partnership, environmental protection and enhancement, response to societal needs, and financial success. Winning projects represent the highest standards of achievement in the development industry—standards that ULI members deem worthy of attainment in their professional endeavors. All types of projects have been recognized for their excellence, including office, residential, recreational, urban/mixed use, industrial/office park, commercial/retail, new community, rehabilitation, public, and heritage projects, as well as programs and projects that do not fit into any of these product categories. Since 2012, the ULI Global Awards for Excellence have honored development projects from around the globe in a single competition, rather than separate winners by region.

The international competition is overseen by a jury composed of ULI members from around the world who are recognized leaders in their fields. Each winner receives a jewel-quality cube trophy, engraved with the jury’s official statement about the winning project. Further recognition of winners and finalists includes case studies in ULI publications, as well as press releases and announcements in Urban Land magazine and on the Institute’s website.

ULI Awards for Excellence Through the Years: A Comprehensive Listing of Winners Since 1979

2017 – 2018 Global Awards of Excellence Winners

Thirteen real estate development projects from around the globe—eight from the United States, two from Canada, one in Europe, and two from Asia— have been selected as winners in the 2017–2018 ULI Global Awards for Excellence:

Azkuna Zentroa, Bilbao, Bizkaia, Basque Country, Spain

Buffalo Bayou Park, Houston, Texas, United States

Chicago Riverwalk, Chicago, Illinois, United States

Downtown Allentown Revitalization District, Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States

Emeryville Center of Community Life, Emeryville, California, United States

Half Moon Village, Half Moon Bay, California, United States

Kashiwa-no-ha Smart City, Kashiwa City, Chiba Prefecture, Japan

Marine Gateway, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Milwaukee RiverWalk, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States

Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore, Singapore

Pearl, San Antonio, Texas, United States

University Center-The New School, New York, New York, United States

West Don Lands, Toronto, Ontario, Canada